The Newport Beach Film Festival is an 8 day affair showcasing “over 350 films from 50 countries, along with nightly special events, red carpet galas, post screening receptions, compelling conversations with filmmakers, international spotlights, industry seminars and retrospectives.”

I got tickets to the closing night celebration (worth $95 each) for the cost of free ninety nine, so I found myself taking an Uber black on a Thursday after work to watch “The Fixer” at the historic Lido Theater.

image
Riding an Uber Black with the fancy schmancy window screen. I am Beyoncé.

 

image

The film started promisingly enough, but the concept is better than the execution, and I felt pretty confused towards the end. I give it an overall review of meh. I did enjoy hearing the director’s insight after the showing, though. I also think Dominic Rains is fabulous as a former Afghan journalist who settles into a small town in NorCal and starts writing obituary for the local paper.

image

I enjoyed the rest of the evening outside sipping on complimentary cocktails from Stella Artois and Tito’s Vodka and delighting my tastebuds with food concoctions from “Orange County’s best restaurants” while walking around the entrance to the world famous Balboa Peninsula in Newport Beach (aka Via Lido Plaza).

I can honestly say I had a great time. Thanks, NBFF!